Curriculum, Education, Homeschool

Our 2015-16 Curriculum

DSC_9789We homeschool year-round, but it just so happens that with our moving and travels our new school year will begin in August. For the first time this last year we followed the Ambleside Online schedules as written (Year 1 and 2) and it was an amazing year! It was so nice to help me keep on track and not forget where we were or worry about not getting enough done. I can’t believe it took me so long to trust the method!

This year we will have boys in Year 1, Year 2 and Year 3. Technically Ethan should be starting Year 4 but he got behind when he was in German school. There are too many fabulous books to skip any, so while it is not “CM approved”, he is going to do an accelerated year 3 so that he can begin Year 4 at the start of 2016. He has a habit lately of waking up early and getting all his individual work done by 8 or 9 in the morning, so I think he can handle an additional one or two readings each day.

Joshua is capable of reading all his books on his own as well, although I will probably be reading a few with him this next year anyway because there are some rather complex texts for a 7 year old (such as Pilgrim’s Progress). Grant is barely reading- he can sound out simple words but that’s about it, so I will be reading all his books to him.

As a side note, I have been asked many times how much it costs to homeschool. Boxed curriculum is typically consumable and requires repurchasing workbooks for each child each year and can cost between $300 to $1,000 per child. One great thing about the Ambleside Online curriculum is you purchase books one time and they can be used for all your other children. If you happen to start at the beginning it’s even better because you only have to purchase one year’s worth of books each year. This year my purchase of Year 3 books cost about $170 (this includes all free reading books as well as required reading) and I purchased almost exclusively from Amazon, I could have saved a lot more money if I was a thrift store/yard sale shopper.

It is against AO’s copyright policy for me to list all the incredible books my boys will be reading, but you can click on each link below to see the books listed by category and I’ll simply highlight a few of my favorites. And in case you didn’t already know, these are original, unabridged versions, not children’s classics or other watered down versions.

I have enjoyed reading these incredible classics for the first time and am just as excited for the education they are receiving as for the education I am finally receiving after 18+ years of “schooling”. It never ceases to amaze me at how perfectly capable these young children are at reading and comprehending incredibly complex language.

Here is a link to the Year 3 curriculumhttp://amblesideonline.org/03bks.shtml

Princess and the Goblin, he’s already devoured A Jungle Book but will read it again, A Little Princess, Men of Iron…

Here are Year 2 curriculum (ages 7-8) http://amblesideonline.org/02bks.shtml

Pilgrim’s Progress, Robin Hood, Understood Betsy, The Story of Doctor Dolittle, Otto of the Silver Hand…

Here are Year 1 curriculum (age 6-7) http://amblesideonline.org/01bks.shtml

James Herriot’s Treasury for Children, Charlotte’s Web, Peter Pan, Pinocchio, Little House in the Big Woods

We also include weekly artist studycomposer studynature study and foreign language together (German, French and a tiny bit of Russian when we skype with our friends in Moscow).

It’s going to be a fabulous year!

