Freebies, Homeschool

Organizing a homeschool schedule

Once you know what you want to study and you have a growing number of books filling up your table (or kindle/amazon queue) you have to figure out what to do with them. For me, it’s easiest to digest all these books when I break them up by term. I divide the year into seasons then choose which books to study during each season. The fun literature books I usually save for our bedtime and leisure reading. The others I try to rotate once or twice a week. Before I had my fourth child I was pretty good about planning out what we would do each day, now I just keep a box full of the books we use next to me on the couch and I grab whatever I’m feeling in the mood for. I make sure we work from at least three books a day, anything after that is a bonus.

Here is a breakdown of our reading schedule for next year (for details on each book, see our 2013-2014 curriculum)

Fall:
Story of the World
MUS and Life of Fred
Apologia Science
Reading (Joshua): Ordinary Parents Guide and Usborne reading books
We’re traveling through Italy and Greece so we will be reading 5-6 books specifically on that subject
Artist’s study: DaVinci, Michelangelo, Raphael, Boticelli, visit the Uffizi and Accademia galleries
Red Fairy Book
Understood Betsy

Winter:
Story of the World
MUS and Life of Fred
Apologia Science
History of Germany
Our Island Story (in preparation for a trip to England)
The Little Duke
A Wonder Book
Otto of the Silver Hand
Composer study: Handel

Spring:
Story of the World
MUS and Life of Fred
Apologia Science
Beautiful stories from Shakespeare
Heroes of Modern Europe
The King of the Golden River
Robin Hood
Composer Study: Bach

Summer:
Story of the World
Viking Tales
Handbook of Nature Study
Five Children and It
Brighty of the Grand Canyon
Composer Study: Beethoven

Once I know what I need to work on during that period, I can easily divide it up by week and day. I use the above free homeschool planner to organize my week. I laminate the schedule so I can easily modify it. With three children and a new baby, flexibility is the key to sanity in our household! How do you organize it all?

