Baby, Family

Baby Olivia

We welcomed little Olivia Abigail into the world on Monday, February 4, 2013 at 8:31am in Landstuhl, Germany! She weighs 6 pounds 11 ounces and is 19 1/2 inches long.


Here are a few pictures I took at the hospital. I’m excited to take some more professional photos now that we’re home, so be prepared for picture overload in the next few weeks!

Olivia’s Birth Story:

As far as labor goes, I couldn’t have asked for a better birth experience. The last few weeks I felt that she was getting ready to come but was disappointed when I was only dilated to a one at my 38 week checkup and found out the induction policy is not until 41 weeks (I’ve had to be induced two of the three times and my only baby that came on his own was at 42 weeks). I thought for sure I was in for several more weeks of discomfort and sleepless nights.

Sunday I felt incredible pressure and commented to my husband a few times that if she didn’t come soon I wasn’t going to be able to walk. That night I had a few braxton hicks and as morning approached I started to feel a dull ache in my back. I have back labor with all my pregnancies and thought it was a good sign that things were moving along. A few hours later I had a real contraction in my back and after having two or three I realized I better start timing them. It was 5:20 and by 5:40 I had consistently had contractions 5 minutes apart. The only time I’ve been able to go into labor on my own I had little contractions throughout the day but didn’t start active labor until later in the evening, so I thought maybe these would ease up and things would progress as the day went on (after all it was the day before my due date, unheard of for me!), but Anthony was convinced we needed to head for the hospital. He got all the boys ready while I got myself up and dressed. By the time we were all ready an hour had passed of steady 5 minute apart contractions and I knew this was the real thing.

We dropped the boys off at a friend’s house around 7am and by the time we arrived at the hospital at 7:30 the contractions were 2-3 minutes apart and I was dilated to a 6-7. I figured I still had a couple hours to go since all three previous births were 4 1/2 hours from start to finish. I’m positive for Group Beta Strep so they started to get the medication in me and said to just hang tight until the medicine made it through.

The pain in my back seemed to be a bit more controllable this time. They were still intense and throbbed after each contraction, but the throbbing didn’t last the entire time, I had short breaks in between and since I was progressing so fast I didn’t get as tired and worn out. Shortly after they got my IV in, the contractions got more intense and I told the nurse I was going to have to push soon. She checked me and sure enough I was complete however my water still hadn’t broken and was holding the baby in. Just a few minutes later my water broke, first time it’s ever broke on it’s own, and I felt the urge to start pushing. The put the medication on the fastest mode. By the time the doctor got in the room, seven minutes and three pushes later there was a tiny purple baby lying on my chest.

It had barely been one hour since I arrived, and three hours from the time I woke up until baby Olivia was born! While the pain was intense, I feel so blessed that it was so quick and that I was able to do it naturally again. The surge of adrenaline after going through something like that is akin to crossing the finish line of a marathon. The body is in an incredible amount of pain but you have such a natural high from being able to accomplish something so hard, you feel inexplicable joy because of the pain.

I had so much energy afterward and was up and walking in no time. I didn’t even need to take any motrin afterwards because I wasn’t in any pain. I couldn’t have asked for a better experience. She is a little angel, she is so calm and quiet (at least in the day!) We are so happy to have her in our family.

Leave a Reply

