Creative, My Style, Tutorials

DIY throw pillows and easy faux French stripe

I couldn’t seem to find any of our throw pillows when we unpacked our things, but I’ve had my eye on several pinterest ideas and decided it was a great excuse to finally do something creative. I’m totally in love with the French stripe feed sack style right now, but didn’t want to spend a lot of money on something that my boys will probably destroy in a matter of weeks. I found a few tutorials on how to create your own faux french stripe and it worked perfectly!

I purchased a canvas drop cloth from Amazon, some permanent washable fabric markers and painters tape from JoAnn and got to work. Simply place your tape where you want your stripes to be and color in the center of the two pieces of tape (you could also use fabric paint or a red sharpie). Simple as that!

I recovered our dining room chairs and made this fun little throw pillow. Next I’ll be making a matching table runner and napkins.

I also made this simple bow pillow out of the canvas drop cloth. I got all my pillow forms from Crate and Barrel, they’re super soft and quite inexpensive.
I found this cute French print on Etsy and added a little burlap. Super simple and inexpensive.
Leave a Reply

