Education, Homeschool

Favorite Educational/Homeschool iPhone/iPad Apps

I love using educational games to reinforce learning and make it fun. After mastering Shake the States, my almost 6 year old has been enjoying playing Stack the Countries on my phone. I thought it was too advanced for him at first, since it quizzes them on every country in every continent including what their flags look like and capital cities. He asked me for a lot of help at first and unfortunately I didn’t know most of the answers, however as time went on he learned by playing and actually completed the entire game earning every country on every continent. The other day he brought me his drawing notebook and showed me the pictures he drew of different countries and states. He doesn’t pronounce or spell each one perfectly but still I am surprised how much he actually remembers and retains from playing a simple game.

I usually let each child have 20 minutes of game time a day and often use it as leverage to get them to do things they don’t really want to do. Here are a few of my favorite homeschooling apps for the iPhone and iPad. What are your favorite apps? Any recommendations for Kindle/Android apps? I have yet to find any I love…

Ages 2 and under

Starfall ABC’s  Free
Counting with the Very Hungry Caterpillar  $1.99
Kids Can Match Animals $0.99
ABC Wheels $1.99
iKnow Phonics ABC’s Free
Giraffe’s Matching Zoo Free
Alphabet Tracing Free

Ages 3-4

Teach Me Kindergarten $1.99
Bob Books $1.99
SuperWhy $2.99
Preschool Island Adventure $0.99
Park Math $1.99
ABC Magic Free
iWrite Words Free Lite Version, $2.99 Full Version
Numberland $2.99

Ages 4-6

Shake the States $1.99
Stack the Countries $1.99
Teach Me 2nd Grade $1.99
Are you Smarter than a 5th Grader Free
Brain Pop Free
Brain Quest Free
Jungle Time $0.99
ABC Cursive Writing Free

Fun Reference Apps

Chirp! Bird Songs USA $2.99
Counting Bills & Coins Free
Planets Free
Discover Musical Instruments $1.99
Dinosaurs: The American Museum of Natural History Collections Free


2 thoughts on “Favorite Educational/Homeschool iPhone/iPad Apps”

Leave a Reply

