Baby, Motherhood, Reviews, Travel

The Stroller Fleet

No one ever mentions the fact that if you plan on having more than one children you are going to go through a whole fleet of strollers. Meet our newest editions- strollers #6 the Bugaboo Cameleon and #7 the Peg Perego Si.

With my first child I purchase a travel system- a small lightweight stroller that the car seat could attach to and a single jogging stroller. Then baby number two came along and we needed a double. I got rid of both my single strollers, purchased the Graco Quattro Tour Duo stroller and a double jogger. Then baby number three came… We bought an umbrella for the older and the younger two rode in the doubles. Of course I contemplated trying to buy a tripple jogger, but gave up on the idea. I wish I’d kept the single jogger so I could have pushed one boy while my husband pushed the other rather than cramming them all in the double (which we did on several 15+ mile runs).

Bugaboo Cameleon

Baby number four requires a whole new system. The main reason is because we will be living in Germany! I remember my first trip to Germany seeing mothers out for walks, rain, snow or shine with their babies in old fashioned buggies with 4-wheel drive tires that can easily maneuver over cobblestone streets and six inches of snow, Russian-style buntings and adjustable umbrellas. They are certainly a sight to behold.

When I first learned I was pregnant and would be having the baby in Germany I knew I had to have one of those mega strollers. Partially out of want, and partially out of necessity. It would be impossible for me to push my current strollers on European cobblestone streets. Unfortunately, those mega strollers cost a small fortune when you add in all the accessories. Fortunately for me, I found a fabulous local deal that included everything! I just love the little basinette that hooks right onto the stroller and can’t wait to join the german mamas strolling down the strasse.

Peg Perego Si

And as much as I love a double stroller, it’s just not practical for European streets and metros unless you get the kind where the smaller child his hidden behind or below the other. My kids are too strong willed to sit blindly in the back, they need a view of everything.

Grant however, still needs to be in a stroller. After much research trying to find a small single stroller that would ride well on cobblestones and wouldn’t break the bank, I finally found this Peg Perego Si. It’s lightweight, fully reclines, has 4 wheel drive wheels that lock and costs just under $200. I LOVE this stroller. It took some engineering skills to figure out how to open and close it, but I was amazed at how well it steers! I can open a door with one hand and wheel it through with the other. If only I’d known there were strollers that were so easy to push! I will never go back to the pathetic small wheeled strollers of my past.

I plan on Baby Bjorning baby #4 as long as possible and by the time he/she (wishful thinking) is old enough to need the stroller, Grant will be old enough to walk. We’ll probably also get the buggy board for our Bugaboo so when the older boys get tired they can catch a ride.

I’m also bringing along my double jogger for around the neighborhood, but for city trips we’ll use strollers 6 and 7. I really hope we don’t have to buy any more strollers in the near future!

4 thoughts on “The Stroller Fleet”

  1. you should buy a sheep skin for your stroller while in Germany! We've used that with all our kids. It's great for winter and summer. It regulates the temperature and it's nice and soft! Melanie.

  2. Holy cow! You've been through a lot of strollers. I don't have the luxury of buying new ones very often so we have only used 2 singles and 1 double for all five. And I don't think we'll be buying a new one for #6. They are just so darn expensive! But I do love the buggy looking one… the first one you talked about. It's darling!

Comments are closed.