Giveaways, Organic Living, Reviews, Things I Love

A healthier home in 5 weeks {Week 5} + Giveaway

Before I jump into the topic of week 5, I want to announce a giveaway of Sweet Milk Handmade Lotion!

A few months ago I discovered this homemade lotion made by Mandy and asked her to send me three different scents of her choosing. I could not have been more happy with what I received! The lotion is so smooth and creamy (I can even apply it right after shaving and it doesn’t burn my legs) and her scents are amazing! I have never used creamier better smelling lotion in my life. I’m so in love with it.

One lucky winner will receive three 2oz bottles of Sweet Milk Handmade Lotion! Just scroll to the bottom to enter. And if you aren’t the winner, but still want amazing lotion, just email Mandy at tylermandyjack {at} hotmail {dot} com. You won’t believe her prices- a 2oz bottle is just $2.50 and an 8oz bottle is $6.50, lip balm is $1.75!

Now, on to our last challenge… We know that pesticides have been linked to all sorts of nasty things. We don’t want it on the food we feed our children and we don’t want it on the grass they roll around in during the summer. Here are some resources for having a healthier outdoor space.

{Week 5 Challenge: A SaferYard}

1. Rather than spraying chemicals to kill bugs in the yard and garden, try these safer solutions.

2. Try these gardening tips rather than insecticides:

3. Natural bug spray (for you): I think we all are aware or have at least heard of the dangers of DEET. But if you live in tick and mosquito country the threat of lyme disease or west nile virus can be just as scary.

Here are a few homemade recipes you can try (I have not tried any of these):

Here are some safer alternatives to DEET (I have not tried any of these products), however if you live in a highly infested deer tick area, wear long clothes and spray the DEET only on clothes, do not make contact with skin and do not use on small children.

If you have completed all 5 steps, Congratulations! You are on your way to a healthier environment for your family!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Did you miss week 4?

2 thoughts on “A healthier home in 5 weeks {Week 5} + Giveaway”

Leave a Reply

