Organic Living

A healthier home in 5 weeks {Week 4}

Do you know what’s in the shampoo you use on your hair every day? Would you be surprised to discover a chemical in your shampoo could put your unborn child at risk for abnormal brain development, and could contribute to Alzheimer’s or other nervous system disorders? I sure was. I was even more surprised to learn that my baby shampoo had chemicals linked to cancer in them!

And shampoo is not the only concern. Anti-perspirants contain aluminum which is believed to contribute to breast cancer, sunscreen contain toxins that could contribute to cancer and reproductive problems, nail polish is linked to birth defects, and some makeup contains neurotixins, carcinogens and toxins linked to cancer.

{Week 4 Challenge: Safer Skin}

1. Go through your cosmetics and check the ingredients. Look for these toxic ingredients and these dirty dozen chemicals. Also, check the Skin Deep Cosmetics Database to see how safe your cosmetics are. I think you’ll be surprised how many things you use everyday contain toxic chemicals. I immediately tossed my anti-perspirant, toothpaste, shampoo, conditioner, heat protectant, and hair spray and lotion after reading the labels.

2. Replace your cosmetics with safer alternatives, organic is best, or try making your own! This includes, but is not limited to:

  • Shampoo/hair products: Food Babe has some great holistic hair care recommendations including several organic shampoo brands. Wellness Mama also has some great recipes on her website. Unfortunately for me, organic and homemade shampoos make my hair too oily, so I’ve settled for a midway product- Aveda- it has some chemicals but isn’t as harmful as the shampoo I previously used and ranks a 5 on the Skin Deep database.
  • Toothpaste: some questionable chemicals in toothpaste include fluoride , Triclosan (linked to damage to liver, kidneys, heart lungs, sterility and more), Sodium Hydroxide (used in drain cleaner), and artificial dyes, flavors and colors. Here are some alternative solutions: Weleda Tooth Gel, Kiss My Face Kids Toothpaste, Toms of Maine (I use this for me), Burts Bees, Green Beaver, Jason Natural Cosmetics (I use this for my kids), Natural dentist. See more at Healthy Child Healthy World.
  • Deodorant: There are several organic/natural/aluminum-free options for deodorant. I tried using the crystal, but it didn’t work well for me on warm days (others have recommended the liquid version). After discovering the Wellness Mama site I was desperate and decided to try her deodorant recipe and it actually works for me!  You can also try natural brands such as Bubble and Bee, Jason, Alba, Kiss my Face, Burt’s Bees’ and Tom’s of Maine.
  • Sunscreen: There are several safer options of sunscreen, here are a few: Skin Deep, Alba Botanica, Avalon Baby, Badger, Burt’s Bees’, California Baby, Kabana Green Screen, Dolphin Organics (the one I’m currently using).  
  • Makeup: Check the skin deep website to see how safe your makeup is. Here are 12 non-toxic organic makeup products if you need to replace any of yours.
  • Nail Polish: Nail Polish contains chemicals linked to cancer and birth defects such as toluene, DBP and formaldehyde, even if the bottle doesn’t list it, the state of California discovered many still contain them. Zoya is one of two companies in the CA nail polish study that did not contain the toxic trio. Some other safe brands of nail polish are PRITI NYC and Piggy Paint. 3.

Did you miss week 3? 

Continue to Week 5

    1 thought on “A healthier home in 5 weeks {Week 4}”

    1. I was just given a deoderant recipe and invitation to make it with a friend last week – I wonder if it's what you tried. I haven't made it yet – might have to recruit your opinion. 🙂

    Leave a Reply

    