Organic Living

A healthier home in 5 weeks {Week 2}

As a mother, one of my primary responsibilities is to keep a clean home. Though it might be difficult to tell since the moment I vacuum someone runs through with dirt and the moment I sweep and mop someone spills juice. I never stopped to consider that the things I am using to keep my house relatively clean could actually cause my children harm.

Many chemicals include toxins that can trigger respiratory infections, headaches (and my husband thought I was just making excuses for not cleaning 😉  cause damage to the brain or nervous system, decrease sperm count and yes, even cancer. This is a great article, How Toxic are Your Cleaning Supplies? Which outlines several of the dangers as well as good solutions.

These chemicals are not limited to cleaning solutions. How about antibacterial soap? Every good mom knows she needs to protect her children from bacteria. But what if your antibacterial soap and hand sanitizer were actually making your children more sick? Studies are showing that an ingredient found in most antibacterial products called Triclosan (yes it was in my soap) can actually do more harm than good. Instead of killing only bad bacteria, it kills ALL bacteria. Even the good guys that protect your immune system. This creates a bacterial resistance which in effect creates superbugs which our body cannot effectively combat against and is much worse than the germs the soap is supposedly protecting us against. Not good.

Even our laundry detergent contains chemicals that have nasty things linked to cancer and reproductive toxins. Check this article to see what chemicals are in your laundry detergent.

{Week 2 Challenge: Cleanup Household Cleaners}

1. Toss those toxic household cleaners. Replace them with organic versions or try making your own. There are many great websites out there with recipes, my favorite is Wellness Mama.

2. Toss the toxic soap and sanitizers. Replace them with organic soap (including body wash). I love the bath soap from Bubble and Bee and have replaced my liquid dish soap with Dr Bronner’s (dilute with water) and thoroughly cleaned out my toxic foaming pump bottles and replaced them with a diluted mixture of Dr Bronners for foaming handwashing soap. I also use Dr Bronners hand sanitizer spray.

3. Replace laundry and dishwashing detergent with a non-toxic version or make your own. There are lots of options out there, I have not personally tried to make my own. I use the Seventh Generation brand.

For more information about household toxins, check out this article: Highly toxic chemicals are found in laundry detergents, dryer sheets, deodorants, perfumes, soaps and other household products

Did you miss week 1? 

Continue to Week 3

5 thoughts on “A healthier home in 5 weeks {Week 2}”

  1. DoTerra has an oil called OnGuard that is a great alternative to hand sanitizer. And it smells like Christmas! There is a lot of clove in it. We use it all the time for illness, canker sores, and sanitizer.
    I've wanted to make my own laundry detergent but haven't done so yet. It's on my list for my Pinterest challenge this month though.

  2. We love the OnGuard as well! I also add some melaleuca and peppermint oil to my diluted Dr. Bronner's soap. I started soap making a little over a year ago, because my daughter has eczema. So we use that for showers, but for washing hands I still like the liquid version better, so we still use Dr. Bronner's.
    I also have been making laundry soap for quite some time. I like the powdered version better. I like to add either the purify, or eucalyptus and lemon to it.

  3. I think I will try adding some Purify when I make my laundry soap. Or maybe some Wild Orange. Good to know that the powder kind is better.

Leave a Reply

