Reviews

Positive Parenting Solutions

When my husband deployed I experienced a host of behavioral problems I hadn’t previously encountered, at least not to this extent. Some of them were a natural result of the growing process while others I am certain were because of the stress of having daddy gone and moving to a new state.

While I still haven’t mastered all the behavioral problems (some I fully admit are due to laziness on my part) I have found some great resources that help point me in the right direction.

The first is Love and Logic. I read the book Parenting with Love and Logic and then a friend let me know they also have cd’s you can buy. There are actually a ton of resources available in their online store, and I am excited to try a few of them.

The approach of giving your children choices rather than authoritatively commanding them teaches lifelong decision making skills that are essential once they get out into the world. It does require a lot more patience and thought on the part of the parent, and I notice when I get lazy my children’s behavior declines.

The second is Positive Parenting Solutions. I bought the book If I have to tell you one more time! (the story of my life) and really loved it. A lot of the focus is on logical consequences for behavior, the only problem is I have a hard time thinking of logical consequences for illogical behaviors!

A lot of the techniques seem perfect for older children but not as easily applied to toddlers. I still need more help! Then, I discovered that they offer online parenting videos called Positive Parenting Solutions.

Even better, they are offering a free membership for military families! I have just started to watch the videos and it is such a great help to me. I hope that combining these two resources will help me become the parent I want to be.

If you’re active duty and especially if your spouse is deployed, be sure to sign up for Positive Parenting Solutions, they are well worth your time!

2 thoughts on “Positive Parenting Solutions”

  1. HI Cari!

    Thank you for your lovely comments about my book, “If I Have to Tell You One More Time.” I'm so glad you enjoyed it.

    I'm also excited to hear that you are going through the Positive Parenting Solutions Online course. I hope it brings you years of parenting peace!

    Thanks also for letting your readers know about our PAY IT FORWARD PARENTING program which provides free access to our course to military families. It's our small way to say THANK YOU to families like YOURS who sacrifice so much for us. Thank YOU!! xo

    Warmly,

    Amy McCready
    Founder, Positive Parenting Solutions
    http://www.PositiveParentingSolutions.com

  2. If I was a military family – I would do that online course – AWESOME!!! I have heard GOOD THINGS of Love & Logic and look forward to reading that!! I hope to do that before it's too late!!! 🙂 Thanks for the reminder and the new book idea!
    You are awesome Cari!

Leave a Reply

