Education, Homeschool, Motherhood, Reviews

A cure for "Mommy Brain"…

I have been feeling the need lately for some serious intellectual stimulation (being with three boys 24/7 will do that to a person). As much as I’d love to enroll in another master’s program, that just isn’t an option for me right now, but I knew I had to do something

I’ve had a Khan Academy app on my phone for a while now but hadn’t actually used it. I finally decided to try it out and I’m sure glad I did! I downloaded the Chemistry and the Calculus video sets. I was really surprised at how well these videos are put together and short enough you could easily fit in a lesson a day no matter how busy you are. They are explained in a way that makes perfect sense and it’s so nice to see the exercises worked out right in front of you. Although I admit, after viewing the first calculus video I realized I needed to start over at Algebra and work my way up…

You can view the videos through the iTunes app or online at http://www.khanacademy.org, the online videos are more extensive. There are a variety of subjects available including many facets of math, science and history. Right now I am working on the US History Overview course, the Art History Course (fascinating- especially since I’ve been to a lot of these museums & historic sites), Chemistry and Algebra. I haven’t taken Algebra since my first year of college at age 17, and I hated it. Now, I’m enjoying algebra! It’s actually fun to work out the equations and I’m enjoying higher level thought processes again. Yes, I’m turning into a total nerd 😉 And while I will probably never use electron configurations and won’t need to calculate the sum of three consecutive odd integers, there are several formulas which are useful in “real life” and there is just something fulfilling about expanding the mind. Plus it gives me greater confidence that I will be able to help my children learn these things when they are older.

The best part is that it is absolutely free! I am learning so much faster than I learned in college and am enjoying it so much more. Forget facebook and pinterest, enlarge your cranium!

3 thoughts on “A cure for "Mommy Brain"…”

  1. Hmm, I am going to find that app. I have been wanting to do The Life of Fred books for math. I would need to start way back at long division, I'm afraid. Sad story, I know but hey…

  2. My brother has taken free history classes from some college professor for the past few years . . . he's learned all kinds of things and gives him something else to think about! Good to use your brain!!! 🙂 You are awesome!

Comments are closed.