Life, Motherhood

Lessons of single motherhood

The past 9 months acting as a single mom has taught me many lessons. The first is that I am definitely NOT cut out to be a single mom! I have gained some serious respect for you single mothers- I admire and revere you. It is not an easy job, the pay is lousy and there are no vacations.

The second is sometimes I am just surviving. I tend to look forward to the future more than I enjoy the present. These little ones grow so fast- it’s so easy to focus on the misery of diaper changing and cleaning up messes and lose track of what a short time this really is and how quickly they will grow up. I try to “escape” by pampering myself or wasting time on the computer but never quite feel refreshed.

It dawned on me that I have been forgetting to”cast [my] burden upon the Lord, and he shall sustain [me] Psalms 5:22. I have been unnecessarily trying to bear the burden alone. It’s amazing to me that by simply changing the frequency and sincerty of my prayers and scripture study, I suddenly don’t feel quite as overwhelmed and alone. I still have disasters to clean up and screaming children to calm, but I am able to handle things better without feeling like I’m going to lose it.

The third thing I have learned is the importance of prioritizing. There are only so many hours in the day and even fewer hours I have alone. About two to be precise. I’ve discovered that if I do the things I want to do first, I never have time for the things I should do. On the other hand, if I do the things I should do first, I seem to always find time for the things I want to do. Of course it’s always easier said than done, but when I actually put forth the effort and stick to a routine, though I am busier, I feel less stressed and more fulfilled at the end of the day and am better able to enjoy the simple moments of motherhood.

