Religion

General Conference Scripture Study

I just got my conference edition in the mail and am so excited to review the talks. We’ve been asked to make the General Conference Ensign edition part of our regular study so that those message embeded in our hearts. One thing I’ve found that really helps me, is to incorporate it with my scripture study and journaling.

I start by reading through the talk, writing down impressions in my journal, then looking up each scripture reference and writing impressions about them. Not only does this provide a fun way to mix up scripture study, but it helps me to really ponder and apply the talks to myself.

For example, when reviewing the October 2011 conference edition, I came across the talk by Matthew O. Richardson titled Teaching after the Manner of the Spirit. I kind of sped read the first page was about to skip past it, since I no longer teach Relief Society I didn’t think there would be anything in it for me. But I decided to stick with it and after looking up a few of the scriptures and writing thoughts about them, it dawned on me that I AM a teacher. Every single day. And the most important kind of teacher. This most definitely was written for me and I that I need to learn how to teach my children properly “real teaching involves much more than just talking and telling…and…the Holy Ghost teaches by inviting, prompting, encouraging, and inspiring us to act“. I was so glad I didn’t let myself miss out on this talk.

Leave a Reply

