REAL FOOD

Real Food: Snacks

When you have little ones, snacks are extremely important. My kids need a snack two hours after eating breakfast, two hours after eating lunch and sometimes 2 hours after eating dinner and usually those morning or mid-day snacks are when we’re on the go so I need an arsenal of relatively non-messy snacks.

I try to always have a basket of ready-to-eat fruit in the pantry where they can reach. This usually consists of bananas, cutie oranges, and apples. I also keep a basket or tray of pre-chopped fruit and vegetables in the fridge that they can munch on whenever they get hungry. Things like cherry tomatoes, carrots, celery, strawberries, blueberries, grapes, carrots, red peppers, etc… I usually try to offer three different varieties of foods. Saturday, after picking up my bountiful basket, is my prep day when I get this all prepared for the upcoming week.

The great thing is that most of these foods are also great on the go. I used to think goldfish and animal crackers were the best portable snacks, but nature really provides the best portable snacks- grapes, bananas, apples- no packaging required.

Once a week I will make a special snack like fruit bars (larabars), brown rice crispy treats, no bake cookie bars, muffins etc… (I am constantly adding lots more healthy snacks to my food blog so be sure to check back!) and I usually supplement the fruits & veggie snacks once per day with cheese, cottage cheese or yogurt.

Here are a few of our favorite “special” snacks:

Larabars

Brown Rice Crispy Treats

No Bake Oatmeal Cookie Bites

Veggie Chips (aka chard chips/kale chips)
2 thoughts on “Real Food: Snacks”

  1. After reading your blog for a couple months I thought I should probably read a comment to say hi and actually connect with you. So…hi. 🙂 I love reading blogs of people who are in a similar situation as our family – young ones, home school, intentional living, gospel based, focusing on family and all that is good…A couple of your recipe posts have been so good for me – we were “almost vegan” (we have chickens we love and just can't quit cheese) for some months. When I started preparing to homeschool the 2nd grader and kinder beginning this February, life got ultra crazy and we fell off our healthier, real food lifestyle. It's good to have new inspiration while getting back on track!

  2. Hi Julie, thanks so much for your comment. It's nice to “meet” you! I can't give up eggs or cheese either, but I could definitely go without red meat. Congrats on homeschooling- it's pretty crazy at times but I keep telling myself it's going to be so worth it someday! I always thought I ate pretty healthy, but the real food thing is new to me too, so I hope as I figure out what works for my family it may be helpful to others…

Comments are closed.