Family, Life, Motherhood

An Intentional Life

You may have noticed the new blog design and title. When I began this blog more than 5 years ago, it was a private blog to share photos with our family who lived 2,000 miles away. After making the decision to go “public” I was at a loss trying to come up with a name since I still blog mostly for me, for a family record and to share things that I’m learning in life, thus I blog about a million unrelated things…However the time has come for me to remove our last name from the blog, forcing me to choose a new name. The url remains the same, just the name has changed- although if you grabbed a button that will need to be updated (sorry! But it was either name change or go private again!)

“An Intentional Life” kind of sums up the kind of life we try to live. We try to make each day count; not to just wander this earth mindlessly seeking fleeting pleasures or living from one crisis to the next, but to plan out our future and work towards specific goals that will get us there.

One example of intentional living is our change to real foods and avoiding processed foods. We could wait for cancer or diabetes to inflict us, but we choose to take measures to prevent rather than deal with a future problem. Or our choice to invest for our children’s education and our future missions. We make sacrifices today to save for a future that is relatively uncertain, but that we hope will provide a secure financial future for our children and a life of service for us. Intentional living is acting, not being acted upon. Choosing to obey God’s laws and enjoy blessings rather than suffering consequences that occur when we disobey them.

Certainly our specific goals change over time and in the end we may have a completely different destination than when we started, but we have something to shoot for and we work for it each day, but the eternal destination never changes.

I love Joel Osteen, one my favorite quotes by him is “God wants us to live consistently, He wants us to enjoy every single day of our lives.” Happiness is not something that we have to wait until the next life to obtain, we can experience joy NOW through the choices we make each day!

That is what I want the purpose of this blog to be. To share joy in the simple things of life, the pitter-patter of little feet, the hysterical belly laughs shared by brothers, the excitement of learning and the beauty of life. I want to live an intentional life, to align my future with the future that God has planned for me and enjoy, not just survive, life’s journey.

2 thoughts on “An Intentional Life”

Comments are closed.