Motherhood

The Gentleness Challenge

As a mother of three boys born in three years, I have truly experienced the highs and lows of motherhood. There have been times when I couldn’t imagine that life could ever get any better.

There have also been times I’ve felt a level of anger and frustration I have never before felt. Like the time I thought my 2 year old was quietly playing in his room, only to discover he had removed his soiled diaper and spread the contents all over his face, the crib and the walls. My first instict was to scream. Then cry. Then yell for my husband to come clean up the mess.

There’s also the time my son wrote his name with orange crayon on our carpet. Or the time last week when all three hooligans dumped a Costco-sized bag of Craisins all over the house (and filled their socks with them), crushed a bunch of glass ornaments into millions of tiny pieces into the carpet and broke the leg of the desk I was putting together, in half.

It is very difficult to be patient during those times when you really want to wring someone’s little neck. But I’ve learned that yelling does nothing but anger and frustrate them, sending them over the edge into even more misbehavior. They definitely respond better when I react calmly, so it is something I have really been trying hard to work on, however it is a real challenge at times. That’s why I was so excited when I saw The Gentleness Challenge hosted by Women Living Well Ministries. I can’t wait to learn new ways to discipline my children with love.

I love this quote “It’s interesting to note that all of the fruit of the Spirit address this very issue – the fruit of the Spirit is: love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, gentleness, faithfulness and self-control (Gal. 5:22). When we walk in the Spirit – we will be gentle mothers. But when we walk in the flesh – we lack all of these attributes.” That is so true. If we are followers of Christ, we should begin by seeking to emulate the attributes he has. What better mothers we would be if those attributes could be said of us. So if you’re interested in joining the challenge please visit their website for ideas and support!

6 thoughts on “The Gentleness Challenge”

  1. So right! Parenthood is the same for me. Better than I could imagine, and more frustrating than I could imagine as well. I only have one son so I could certainly learn a thing or two from you. I still remember that time my son pulled the pitcher of tea off the counter and every last drop of it ended up on my kitchen floor. Thank goodness they are cute! 🙂

Comments are closed.