Religion, Service

Giving back

One of my favorite scriptures is Jacob 2:18-19 “But before ye seek for riches, seek ye for the kingdom of God. And after ye have obtained a hope in Christ ye shall obtain riches, if ye seek them; and ye will seek them for the intent to do good—to clothe the naked, and to feed the hungry, and to liberate the captive, and administer relief to the sick and the afflicted.”

I can’t help but think how God has blessed my life in so many ways. At times I feel like I could not possibly be happier. Yet I know there are those struggling in this world just to survive from day to day. I wish everyone could have the essentials of life so that they could enjoy this journey to it’s fullest. While we make contributions to LDS humanitarian aid, fast offerings, and other worthy charities, it is wonderful to find new ways to help immediate needs and know exactly how and where your money is being put to use. What better way to thank God for our blessings than to help His children who are struggling?

The Chocolate on My Cranium blog is promoting a great cause to help single mothers attend college so they can provide for their children. 100% of donations go to these single mothers. When people join together much can be accomplished, even if each person only gave $5 or $10 it adds up to a significant contribution. I know most of us are barely able to cover the bills as they come in, but I’m sure we can all find a way to donate $5 and I can guarantee you will receive untold blessings for every charitable act, just remember the widow’s mite, she was blessed above those who had much and gave much!

1 thought on “Giving back”

Leave a Reply

