Motherhood

Count your blessings…

I was going through my blog posts adding labels that I’ve neglected for so long…and I found this draft post from last year! Although my “baby” is almost two now and I can only dream of 70 degree weather the other sentiments are still true so I thought I’d publish it anyway. Better late than never…

The other day I was sitting on my back porch holding the baby, the boys were playing on the swings, it was about 70 degrees, I could feel the warm sun soaking in my skin, and it felt like I was on vacation. I thought back to when I was working full time and going to school full time and would daydream about how much fun it would be to not have to work, to just stay home and play with my kids all day. Of course it hasn’t been much of the vacation I planned- I didn’t expect to have three kids in three years, live far away from my family and friends, have my husband be a bishop and be gone almost every night, but this moment I realized I am living my perfect dream life.

I’ve always been a whiner, but when I stop and count my blessings I realize how lucky I am. I’ve had opportunities to travel the world and have fun adventures, I have three beautiful healthy boys, we have a fabulous back yard they can play in, I have a wonderful husband who loves me, I’ve been able to get a graduate degree, learn hobbies like photography, scrapbooking and cooking that keep me sane and make me feel alive, have great people here that love my kids like they’re their own grandchildren, I have goals and dreams for the future that I know I can accomplish. There have been times in our life when we have been so happy we look at each other and wonder if it could really get any better?

