Uncategorized

Baby Grant

Grant Daniel Osborne was born Monday October 26, 2009 at 1:27pm. He weighs 7lbs 5oz and is 19 1/2 inches long.

He is such a good baby, he sleeps all the time and rarely cries. It’s funny how huge Joshua seems now. Joshua doesn’t have a clue what the baby is and doesn’t care to go near him. Ethan is excited to have a baby brother and is taking it really well. This birth experience was so different from the first two. If you don’t like birth stories- stop reading now…

I decided to be induced on my due date because I was already a 3 the week before and ready to have this baby and Anthony’s parents were in town and I not only wanted them to see the baby but wanted them to stay with the boys while we were in the hospital. I had decided months before if I had back labor for the third time this would be my last baby. I was not going to experience that again. A week before my due date I started panicking realizing that I was about to have this baby and dreading the back labor that I knew was impending. I decided this time I would be open to medical intervention and started doing research on epidurals. I had my previous two babies naturally- I feared the procedure of an epidural and felt the drugs weren’t good for the baby, and my first midwife said the epidural might not help back labor.

Anyway, we got to the hospital and they started me on pitocin around 9am, I was already at a 4 and had back labor for a good hour before I decided I’ve already tried it that way twice, might as well try something different this time. So after hounding the poor nurse about how bad the needle really would be and promising it would not slow my labor down, I finally decided to try the epidural.

There were a few scary moments when my blood pressure dropped, but aside from that it was much better than I anticipated. It was the funniest feeling I’ve ever had and I couldn’t stop laughing at my legs, they were like jello and it felt so weird to touch them, it was like when you go to the dentist and have a fat lip or tongue. I was still only half expecting it to help back labor, so I was pretty surprised when I went completely numb and couldn’t feel a thing. I couldn’t even feel any of my contractions and two hours later they said I was complete and ready to push. It was the most relaxing day I’ve had in years and I couldn’t believe I gave birth, I spent the whole time sleeping.

He was born at 1:27, so 4 1/2 hours from start to finish, just like the last two, only this time I was 100% pain free (aside from the first hour of back labor). It was a bit dissapointing at the end because it was so anti-climatic. I didn’t have the adrenaline rush and overwhelming emotions that come from natural childbirth and the satisfaction that you just birthed a baby. Because I have such fast labors the epidural didn’t have any time to wear off so it was still in full effect when he was born and I couldn’t believe I’d just had a baby. If it were my first birth, I’d have been really dissapointed, but I’ve already had that twice, it was nice to have a relaxing experience this time. Plus it may make the difference as to whether we have another baby in the future.

Anyway, we’re glad to have the little guy here, he’s so sweet and so far such a good baby. It was really fun for Ethan & Joshua to spend so much time with their grandparents, they got totally spoiled and really miss them now that they’re gone. I’ll be posting lots more pictures later!
8 thoughts on “Baby Grant”

  1. Congrats! Although don't get used to the sleeping all the time and no crying – he's still in shock to this world – so it's his natural defenses . . . but it wears off. AMazing you have pictures posted so fast!!! And you are still amazing even with having an epideral!!! Don't feel guilty- the goal is to have a healthy mom and a healthy baby!!!! Check, check!!! Get rest when you can!! A mom of 3 little ones needs it – I remember!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  2. Congratulations! He is adorable. I can't believe how quickly you did a photo shoot. I am sure you are feeling good to be able to do that! The pictures are beautiful. Enjoy the few more days of sleeping baby you have!

  3. Congratulations! We are so happy for you and Anthony! My . . . you will be a busy mother of three young boys. They are so lucky to have such a special mom and dad. The pictures are adorable!

Leave a Reply

