Creative

Fall projects

Since I didn’t have to buy anything new for this baby, I decided I’d attempt to be crafty and tackle some projects. I made a new nursing cover, decor for the boys room- although Michael’s discontinued these wooden letters so I’m not sure how I’m going to finish it for the new baby, some burp cloths, baby hats, blanket and attempted my first- and last- quilt.

Most were pretty simple except the quilt- I’ve never done one before and have no desire to patchwork pieces together, and I hate the tie quilts because those fuzzy things always go up your nose. I thought it would be easy to hand stitch designs in the fabric. But after I started I realized the stitching looks terrible on the backside and couldn’t figure out how to make it look good. So I decided to machine stitch it. I don’t have a quilting machine and it took hours to try and go around each curve. I think I can safely say it was my first and last quilt. And I did go ahead and make another blanket with ties- I figured it’s not my nose they’ll be tickling.
For some reason I was feeling ambitious and decided to make Halloween costumes. Call it nesting, I call it a dose of reality- my last few weeks of semi-freedom. But I did manage to complete them all. The boys are going to be Thing 1 & Thing 2 and Anthony’s the Cat in the Hat. It was actually kind of fun, I have gotten out of the sewing mode and it was nice to work on a few projects.

7 thoughts on “Fall projects”

  1. Good for you!!! Sewing Projects are fun and I haven't done many in awhile – I should attempt it – I used to really enjoy such things!
    AND did I forward you those Articles of Faith??? I got them too and sent them out because a few of them cracked me up – the wording was right on! (: Good to see you today – sorry I didn't talk much – my brain and emotions are CRAZY lately (even more so than normal) and no I'm not pregnant! (: You look great!

  2. Super cute stuff! You are very creative! I really like the halloween costumes. What a cute idea!! It is definitely reality! Good for you to tackle all this before he comes! Good luck with everything.

  3. Not only are all these crafts super cute, but the photos of them display the projects perfectly too. Can you pass some of your talent my way? I'll need some of you energy too, if you don't mind:)

Leave a Reply

